UH Bookstore Logo (green)


Attention Fall 2017 incoming freshmen!
Win free textbooks for the Fall 2018 semester from the UH Bookstore.


Open to first-time, degree-seeking freshmen entering in Fall 2017, or the preceding summer, at all University of Hawai‘i campuses. Students must have earned at least 30 credits, and be in good academic standing, with a minimum 2.0 overall, cumulative GPA by May 31, 2018 to be eligible for this promotion. Eligible credits include: Summer 2017, Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 UH credits (developmental and college-level); and Running Start, Early Admit, Advanced Placement, and DCAPS credits (student’s home campus must post credits to the student’s academic record by May 31, 2018).


Free required textbooks for Fall 2018 classes at winner’s home campus. Eighteen (18) awards available (calculation based on one award per 500 first-time freshmen enrolled in Fall 2016); award will be based on the winner’s Spring 2018 home campus.


The Institutional Research and Analysis Office will determine eligible students as of May 31, 2018. A drawing using random selection software will be conducted in June 2018. The Office of the Vice President for Academic Planning and Policy will contact winners in August 2018 via their UH email address (username@hawaii.edu) or by mail and a list of winners will be announced prior to the Fall 2018 semester. To claim awards, winners must present a student ID and Fall 2018 course schedule at their campus’ UH Bookstore by September 28, 2018. Awards are non-transferable and may not be exchanged for cash. Additional redemption information will be provided to winning students. Students receiving financial aid should consult with the Financial Aid Office regarding any possible impact of this award to their financial aid package.

No. of Awards Per Campus

Mānoa — 4

Hilo — 1

West Oʻahu — 1

Hawaiʻi — 2

Honolulu — 1

Kapiʻolani — 2

Kauaʻi — 1

Leeward — 3

Maui — 2

Windward — 1



CONGRATULATIONS to the freshmen who were awarded FREE required textbooks for their Fall classes! They and all other students who have taken 15 credits per semester (30 credits/year) are on their way to on-time graduation and lowering their graduation costs.

2015—2016 Winners

Aditya Kumar, UH Mānoa

Alec Morimoto, UH Mānoa

Krstyn Yata, UH Mānoa

Andrew Menor, UH Mānoa

Leighana Weaver, UH Hilo

Miku Hardman, UH West O‘ahu

Kamalani Andrews, Hawai‘i CC

Bridgette Laranio, Honolulu CC

Luosi Du, Kapi‘olani CC

Jennifer Stockwell, Kapi‘olani CC

Nanami Takahashi, Kapi‘olani CC

Jessica Hedstrom, Kaua‘i CC

Travis Morioka-Kam, Leeward CC

Tiari Iha, Leeward CC

Christine Svrcina, Leeward CC

Yiling Tang, Maui College

Cierra Lauro, Windward CC

2016—2017 Winners

Kari Fukumoto, UH Mānoa

Ma Carmela Therese Anagaran, UH Mānoa

Aaron Harvey Agcamaran, UH Mānoa

Julia Rodriguez, UH Mānoa

Bryce Johnston, UH Hilo

Megan Gonzalez, UH West O‘ahu

Jay Floyd Ocon, Hawai‘i CC

Arthur Agapay, Honolulu CC

Noah Nakamura, Kapi‘olani CC

Keahi Williams, Kapi‘olani CC

Kaimalie Magarifuji, Kapi‘olani CC

Roselyn Mae Cadiente, Kaua‘i CC

Krystle Imamura, Leeward CC

Charelle Ching, Leeward CC

Darlene Malanog, Leeward CC

Rochelle Kay Cudal, Maui College

Jovit Marks, Windward CC